

MEMO

TO: Board of Directors

FROM: Jenna Covington, Executive Director

DATE: June 20, 2025

SUBJECT: June 26, 2025 Board Meeting

The Texas summer is here, and with it comes rising temperatures and increased demands. All areas of the District will remain extremely busy for the next few months. The business of the Board also picks up as we address budget issues and make important policy decisions for the District.

Strategic Initiative Highlight: 2.1.2 – Develop and Implement a Technology Modernization Program

The purpose of this initiative is to implement a sustainable technology modernization program, encompassing both hardware and software used throughout the District. The program will include replacing hardware systems on a routine schedule and performing regular maintenance on both hardware and software items to keep them in proper working order through their service life. Specifically for software modernization, priority is placed on implementing secure Software as a Service solutions hosted in the cloud.

Implementing a hardware replacement program involves developing a multi-year plan to replace all key technology hardware resources according to the industry's best practice-defined lifecycle. For end-user computers and laptops, we have developed a 4-year replacement cycle, aiming to replace approximately 25% of our total inventory annually. We completed year 1 in FY24 and have already defined years 2 through 4. We will complete 1 full cycle in FY27. Additionally, we are developing replacement cycles for iPads, cellular devices (MiFi's), network equipment, cybersecurity equipment, audio/visual equipment, and server infrastructure. Each will have its own schedule broken out by system: water, wastewater, solid waste, and shared services. Every fiscal year, IT collaborates with each department, along with Finance, to plan the budget for each program. These other programs will all be in place by FY27.

Our software modernization program begins with a comprehensive inventory of all applications across every department. We'll capture data types, ownership, dependencies and interrelationships with other applications. For on-site hosted applications, we'll consider the software lifecycle and whether that application can be migrated to the cloud through the same vendor. Alternatively, we'll examine

potential future replacements with cloud-based systems and assess the value that the software adds to the organization. We've inventoried approximately 70% of the applications in the District to date. To implement this program successfully, IT is establishing a program management office (PMO), similar to the Capital Improvement Program nomination and validation process, that will perform project intake, requirements gathering, project scoring, and utilize a committee of leaders across the District to select projects to implement on a given time schedule. This process will provide strategy guidance and ensure IT best practices are utilized to align with District objectives and strategic goals.

New Committee Assignments

As mentioned in last week's update, President Hollified has drawn up the committees for the upcoming year. Assigning directors to committees can be likened to a careful balancing act—mixing experience with opportunities for Directors to contribute to new areas while also maintaining a balance of representation. The new assignments will take effect on July 1. Below is a list of the assignments, and a hard copy will be available at your seat in the Board Room.

FINANCE COMMITTEE

- 1. Geralyn Kever, Chair
- 2. Franklin Byrd
- 3. Rick Crowley
- 4. Lori Barnett Dodson
- 5. Alan McCuistion
- 6. Rick Mann
- 7. George Purefoy

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

- 1. Blair Johnson, Chair
- 2. Phil Dyer
- 3. Joe Farmer
- 4. Marvin Fuller
- 5. Dick Peasley
- 6. Ray Stephens
- 7. Larry Thompson

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE

- 1. Ron Kelley, Chair
- 2. Terry Sam Anderson
- 3. Jack May
- 4. Don Paschal
- 5. Randy Roland
- 6. Jody Sutherland
- 7. Stephen Terrell

POLICY COMMITTEE

- 1. Randy Roland, Chair
- 2. Terry Sam Anderson
- 3. Rick Crowley
- 4. Lori Barnett Dodson
- 5. Joe Farmer
- 6. Alan McCuistion
- 7. George Purefoy

SOLID WASTE COMMITTEE

WASTEWATER COMMITTEE

- 1. Dick Peasley, Chair
- 2. Franklin Byrd
- 3. Rick Crowley
- 4. Alan McCuistion
- 5. Don Paschal
- 6. Jody Sutherland
- 7. Stephen Terrell

WATER COMMITTEE

- 1. Jack May, Chair
- 2. Blair Johnson
- 3. Ron Kelley
- 4. Geralyn Kever
- 5. Dick Peasley
- 6. Ray Stephens
- 7. Larry Thompson

- 1. Phil Dyer, Chair
- 2. Franklin Byrd
- 3. Marvin Fuller
- 4. Rick Mann
- 5. Don Paschal
- 6. Jody Sutherland
- 7. Stephen Terrell

POLICY COMMITTEE

- 1. David Hollifield President
- 2. Chip Imrie Vice President
- 3. Keith Stephens Secretary
- 4. George Crump Past President
- 5. Geralyn Kever Finance Chair
- 6. Ron Kelley Legislative Chair
- 7. Blair Johnson Personnel Chair
- 8. Randy Roland Real Estate Chair
- 9. Dick Peasley Solid Waste Chair
- 10.Phil Dyer Wastewater Chair
- 11. Jack May Water Chair

RETIREMENT PLAN COMMITTEE

- 1. Phil Dyer
- 2. Geralyn Kever

WILSON CREEK OVERSIGHT

1. Keith Stephens

JBSWC BOARD OF DIRECTORS

- 1. Terry Sam Anderson
- 2. Jack May
- 3. Jenna Covington / Billy George, Alternate